About us

Our Staff

Revd Andy Norris


Revd Andy Norris, Rector, with Libby his wife; might be seen sailing around the parish boundary!  Andy has been a ‘vicar’ since 1987 and hopes you will introduce yourself to him if you visit us in Alverstoke.

Please contact Andy through the Church Office.

Revd Tim Watson

Leesland Pioneering Minister

Although rooted in the parish staff team, Tim has a special ministry to serve the Leesland and surrounding area and to encourage fresh expressions of what it is to be a Christian Community today.  Artist, poet, painter you can follow Tim’s blog www.beatliturgist.com     

Tim is husband to Clare and father to Evie and Lucie.

Revd Hazel O’Sullivan

Aide/Chaplain to the Rector

Hazel serves in the parish with Bishop’s Permission to Officiate.  You’ll meet Hazel when she leads worship, usually on a third Sunday at St.Mary’s, but also you’ll find her working as a personal aide/chaplain in support of Andy, the Rector.  In her ministry Hazel therefore helpfully attends to the Rector’s emails and correspondence along with other practical ministry tasks.

Revd Chris Richardson


Chris joined the staff team following his ordination in July 2015.  Married to Abbie, the family with their children James & Kate, moved to join us from Southsea.  Chris would be delighted to meet you.

Kate Smyth

Families Minister

As a key member of our Church Staff team Kate is responsible for:  

  • Leading and growing our Children’s, Youth and Families Ministry (CYFM)
  • Coordinating and supporting volunteers in this ministry
  • Seeking new opportunities to reach out to the community.


Darren Clarke

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Darren Clarke, Licensed Reader and Warden of Readers for Gosport Deanery.

Paddy Trasler

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Paddy serves across the parish and has a special focus on the monthly service at St.Luke’s, Haslar.

Sue Smith

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Paddy serves across the parish and has a special focus on the monthly service at St.Luke’s, Haslar.

Sue Simpson

Parish Office Administrator

It is Sue who welcomes your enquiries at the Church Office in the Parish Centre, Green Road, from 9.00am-12noon each weekday.

Paul Pilott LRAM ARCO

Director of Music

Director of Music, Organist and Choirmaster

Paul oversees the rich and diverse provision of music for worship at St.Mary’s which includes the Choir, Junior Choir, Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble and Worship Band, along with the Organ Scholarship.

Kathryn Clarke

Parish Churchwarden
(Parish Officer)


Kay Howard

Parish Churchwarden
(Parish Officer)


Bill Lock

Vice Chair of the PCC
(Parish Officer)


Tim Finch

Treasurer (Parish Officer) 

Michael Thomas

Secretary (Parish Officer) 

Peter Camp

St Mary’s Church Administrator and Verger (Parish Officer)

Carol Workman

Parish Communion & Visiting Team Co-ordinator (PCC Member of Standing Committee)

Ron Doherty

St Faith Deputy Warden
(Parish Officer)

Eric Skinner

St Francis Deputy Warden
(Parish Officer)

Diane Dow

Bible Fellowship Group
Co-ordinator & Retired Reader

Retired Reader with Permission to Officiate, in addition to co-ordinating the Bible Fellowship Groups Diana is also area Co-ordinator for the Acorn Christian Healing Foundation.

Retired Clergy

The Parish is grateful of the support and ministry of retired Clergy with the Bishop’s Permission to Officiate:


The Revds Reg Forse, Humphrey Prideaux and Hazel O’Sullivan.

Also with appreciation for the occasional help of Revds Phil Hiscock and Ian Rutherford.